Gelatin (or Gelatine) – a mixture of proteins of animal origin. The word “gelatin” is derived from the Latin gelatus, which means “frozen.” Gelatin – a transparent, brittle (when dry), hard, odorless, slightly yellowish on to light-brown color derived from skins and bones of cattle and pigs. Gelatin is used in production: Dairy industry – ice cream, sour cream, yogurt, cottage cheese, cream cakes; Meat – ham, jellied, canned ham, canned meat and fish, meat loaves, pates; Desserts – Desserts jelly, pudding, frosting; Confectionery – chewing gum, lozenges, wafers, candies, marshmallows, candied fruits, creams; Other – consommé soups, sauces, wines, Pharmaceuticals – capsules, tablets, etc.; Manufacture of adhesives, photographic materials. Gelatin contains a large amount of glycine, an amino acid that is a source of energy for the life of the organism. Protein products are poor in glycine, so gelatin – a useful supplement to meat diets.